728x90 AdSpace

  • Latest Posts

    Thursday, December 15, 2016

    WWE Announces United Kingdom Championship Tournament

    2016 continues to be a wild, wild year for professional wrestling.

    In an exclusive press conference at the O2 Arena in London, Triple H introduced the WWE United Kingdom Championship Tournament—a two-day, 16-person elimination tournament to be held in Blackpool's Empress Ballroom on January 14-15. This event will be aired exclusively on the WWE Network, with the winner becoming the first-ever WWE United Kingdom Champion.

    Furthermore, Triple H also announced that this tournament will serve as a lead-in to a weekly WWE UK show that will begin airing on the WWE Network.

    The new WWE United Kingdom Championship was also unveiled at the press conference, and you can see it below:

    Photo taken from WWE.com

    In addition to the tournament, Triple H also announced that the UK's very own Nigel McGuinness has been brought on to provide commentary alongside WWE mainstay Michael Cole. McGuinness is a retired professional wrestler known primarily for his success in Ring of Honor, having been a contemporary of current WWE names such as Daniel Bryan and Samoa Joe. Up until recently, he was also ROH's matchmaker, and now we know the reason why the promotion announced his departure a couple of days ago.

    The 16 competitors were also revealed by Triple H, NXT General Manager William Regal and WWE Superstar Finn Balor. You can take a look at them below:

    Photo taken from this Reddit thread.

    Newsweek reporter Tufayel Ahmed just listed down the names of the 18 men in this picture that were announced as part of the tournament. Yes, that's 18—it seems likely that there will be qualifying matches. In no particular order, they are:

    • Trent Seven
    • Pete Dunne
    • Tyler Bate
    • Sam Gradwell
    • Wolfgang
    • James Drake
    • Tucker
    • Jordan Devlin
    • Joseph Conners
    • Tyson T-Bone
    • Roy Johnson
    • H.C. Dyer
    • Dan Moloney
    • Tiger Ali
    • Jack Starz
    • Ringo Ryan
    • Saxon Huxley
    • Chris Tyler

    These are all the details we have for now, but do look forward as the WWE will likely release more information in the weeks to come. In the meantime, what do you think of this announcement? Are you excited for the tournament this January? Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below!
    • Blogger Comments
    • Facebook Comments
    Item Reviewed: WWE Announces United Kingdom Championship Tournament Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Anthony Cuello
    Scroll to Top