728x90 AdSpace

  • Latest Posts

    Sunday, July 30, 2017

    12-Man Tournament To Crown New PHX Champion At APCC

    The Philippine Wrestling Revolution's most fiercely-competitive division is finally finding a new champion.

    Hot off Chino Guinto's stunning announcement at PWR Live: Bakbakan sa Bayanihan that he is vacating the PHX Championship due to an ACL tear that will have him out of action for up to ten months, the promotion has finally announced a solution to crown a new champ.

    That's right, Revo-Nation, PWR's upcoming three-day appearance at the 2017 AsiaPOP Comicon is going to be centered around a 12-man tournament designed to anoint only the sixth PHX Champion in company history.

    PWR hasn't come out and explicitly said it, but we can speculate that the twelve men on the event poster aside from new PWR Champion Billy Suede and former PWR kingpin Chris Panzer will be the dirty dozen duking it out for the iconic white and gold belt.

    • Inaugural PHX Champion Ken Warren
    • Two-time PWR Champion Jake De Leon
    • Former PWR Champion John Sebastian
    • Former PHX Championship #1 Contender SANDATA
    • The crazed madman Vlad Sinnsyk
    • The flamboyant "Man-Doll" Martivo of the Punk Dolls
    • The dangerous MMA-trained Mike Madrigal
    • Up-and-coming singles star Dax Xaviera
    • Smark Henry Rookie of the Midyear Trian Dela Torre
    • The 320-pound "Intimate Warrior" Rederick Mahaba
    • "The Future" Evan Carleaux
    • Bolt

    Astute tournament junkies know that a twelve-man format doesn't allow for traditional one-on-one matchups all the way to the finals. That probably means we'll be in for two possible structures.

    • Ten total matches: Six one-on-one quarterfinals, three one-on-one semifinals, one Triple Threat finals
    • Seven total matches: Four Triple Threat quarterfinals, two one-on-one semifinals, a one-on-one finals

    Either way, whoever is ending the weekend as PHX Champion is going to be in for a gruelling weekend, with no really easy outs anywhere in the tournament, with only Bolt and Evan Carleaux being the only relatively untested warriors in the field. Of course, this assumes that the following prominent talents won't be tossing their names into the hat.

    • "The Best Pure Wrestler in PWR" Ralph Imabayashi, who may or may not be out with a dislocated shoulder
    • James "Idol" Martinez and Alexander Belmonte III of The Network
    • Former PHX Champion Peter Versoza
    • "The Heart & Soul of PWR" Bombay Suarez
    • "The Raging Gamer" Vintendo
    • Pioneer woman wrestler Crystal
    • The dashing heartthrob Brad Cruz
    • Joey Bax and Miguel Rosales of the Fighters 4 Hire

    Expect the final lineup to be announced soon.

    And what can we expect from the Revo-Ranger, whose prominent placement on the event poster could mean he's in for big things?

    So what are you waiting for Revo-Nation? The 2017 AsiaPOP Comicon Manila is happening on August 25-27 at the SMX Convention Center in Pasay City. Tickets start at P600 for a one-day pass, and can be purchased exclusively through SM Tickets.

    Who do you think is going home as PHX Champion? Let us know in the comments, and we'll see you at the show!
    • Blogger Comments
    • Facebook Comments
    Item Reviewed: 12-Man Tournament To Crown New PHX Champion At APCC Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Unknown
    Scroll to Top